This ‘n’ That

So sorry, my dears, for the loooooong delay between posts. What have I been up to? A short summary:

1. Vacation. Or, as the pundits are calling it, a “staycation.” Not being particularly in the black financially at this point in time, hubby and I decided to stay home for vacation this year. And it was lovely. We painted our den – from a hideous aqua-type color to a delicious chocolate-cranberry type color:

It’s a little hard to tell the color in the picture because this room gets no direct light, but this is pretty close.  Much like Jessica’s new house, we needed to repaint pretty much every room, we’re just going about it much more slowly.  I have to say, I took some inspiration from reading about her adventures in paint – I’ve always been pretty conservative about paint colors – you know, white, beige, etc – but I loved the bold colors she was picking out and that helped push me over the edge to something a little more daring.

Other than that, we relaxed quite a bit and hosted a cookout for our friends on the last Saturday of our vacation. I made two pitchers of mojitos – sooooo delicious, and quite a hit at the party.

2. Work. Preparing for vacation and then making up for vacation. Last night, we hosted our Breaking Dawn release party, and, while lots of fun, kept me at work until 2:00 a.m. I have never seen so many teenage girls in one place at the same time in my life. Or heard so many high-pitched screams! I just love it that these girls (and some boys, too!) are so excited about a book release. Lots of familiar faces from our previous Harry Potter release parties, too.

3. Food. I have to share a new find. Well, new for me, anyway. But first, some background. Last year, prompted by being in my best friend’s wedding, I decided that it was time to get some control around my eating habits. I wasn’t obese yet, but honestly, I wasn’t too far. But it wasn’t so much about losing the weight (although that was a nice side benefit!) as learning how to eat healthy, be healthy, and adjust my attitudes about food. Over the course of about a year, I lost 40 pounds and got a whole new attitude about food that I’ll keep with me for the rest of my life. I try not to rely too much on “diet” foods – although I did switch to light mayo, 1% milk, and things like that (honestly, you can’t tell the difference). One of the things that helped me stay on track was not denying myself treats, but treating myself sensibly – believe it or not, I had (and still have) dessert every single night. Pre-lifestyle change (I refuse to call it a diet), dessert meant most of a pint of Ben & Jerry’s, and I’ve been searching for an acceptable substitute ever since. Well, just recently I discovered Breyer’s Double Churn Free – I had tried the light ice cream and it was really good, but I was always skeptical about the fat free ice cream – really, can fat free ice cream be any good at all? But let me tell you, I picked up the Chocolate Brownie Free – and it is AWESOME. So good. I seriously could not believe how good it was! So if you are an ice cream fan, give it a try – you may be surprised!

4. Shopping. Well, today, anyway. I don’t shop very much – I hate trying on clothes, it’s always crowded and hard to park, but my sister in law’s birthday is tomorrow, and she loves Yankee Candle, so that necessitated a trip to the mall. While there, I dropped into our brand-new Sephora – I’m not much of a makeup girl, but I do like to poke around. I found some perfumes I liked (wow, perfume is expensive!) and tried on (I have to wear them for a while – perfumes don’t smell on me like they do in the bottle – really at all, sometimes it’s shocking – and they change the longer I wear them) and bought a lip gloss. Then went to the Gap and found a cute pair of navy pants for $16 – can’t beat that!

5. Knitting. Honestly, not so much going on here. Oddly enough, I didn’t knit hardly at all on vacation. But here’s what I’ve been working on:

I’ve branched out from dishcloths into dishtowels!

Not a great picture (lack o’light) and you can see my dirty stove, but a fun knit.  You can find it here should you want to make one of your very own!

I’ve completed one of my stripey socks:

People, it is hard to take a picture of your own feet.  This was taken with me bent in half, doing almost a toe touch to get to the right level.  Also, you can see dog hair on the floor.  Maybe time to sweep?

Not much progress made on Lutea:

But a little.  I decided to add the lace pattern around the bottom border – to add some length (I’m tall and always need to do this), and because I thought it would be a pretty detail:

I also hoped it would help stop the hem from rolling, but it doesn’t look like it will accomplish that aim completely.  Hopefully a good blocking will stop that – the yarn does have some wool content, so let’s cross our fingers.

It has been hot hot hot here – and I’ve been loving it.  I’m truly a warm weather gal – in fact, I’m already dreading winter.  So I’m going to go out and enjoy some of this beautiful hot weather and the rest of my weekend -you do the same!

2 Responses to “This ‘n’ That”

  1. stitchywitch Says:

    I love your paint – it looks a lot like the color in my parlor, just a little more brown. I’m glad that my painting is inspiring you – I’m enjoying it, but my family members can’t understand why I don’t like the color the house is now (mostly mint green.)

    Jessica

  2. Deedee (Antevasin) Says:

    Wow Rachel…I LOVE that color of paint!!! I’ve never been much of a mall rat….the only store I miss at Fayette Mall is Dillard’s (we don’t have them here in No. Calif) and Dawahares. I guess maybe because I could make a quick escape to the outside? lol Not sure. People thought I was weird though because I lived right across the street from it and never went. Still don’t either. LOL

Leave a Reply

