Cool stuff…

While I’m waiting for a few cds to rip onto my I-Tunes (Billie Holiday Remixed, the Indigo Girls Swamp Ophelia, and Elton John’s Greatest Hits [the old one from 1974], if you’re curious) here is some fun stuff that I’ve been into…

Interweave Press’ Hurt Book Sale.  Love it.  Just like last year, I managed to contain myself and only get two books – Nancy Bush’s Knitting on the Road and Louisa Harding’s Knitting Little Luxuries – you really can’t beat this sale.  50% off and the books are only slightly damaged.  The sale started yesterday and ends tomorrow – but I would look quickly as stuff tends to go fast!

I had a rare day off in the middle of the week today (at the expense of working Saturday and Sunday – gah) and went to my LYS – I needed one more skein of Cascade Sierra for the Lutea top I’m working on.  I walked immediately to where they store it and saw only.  one.  skein.  I was petrified – what were the chances it would be the dye lot I needed?  Clearly the knitting gods were smiling on me, because that one lonely skein was the right dye lot!

And the icing on the cake?  I’ve been wanting to make the Boteh Scarf (scroll down) from the Spring 2007 Interweave Crochet for forever, but have been balking at paying $5 for the pattern download.  I was thumbing through their back issues of magazines, and lo and behold, they had that issue!  So I got the whole magazine (which I’d rather have anyway) for just a little more than the download!

I gave in and joined Facebook – all my friends were doing it!  And discovered Scrabulous – online Scrabble.  It is too much fun!

And finally, my new tv obsession -Battlestar Galactica.  A friend of ours loaned us the first season, and we were hooked from the first episode.  It is soooooo good – I promise you.  In fact, it’s about time to go watch another!

Leave a comment