Weekend Wrap-up

Now that was a good weekend!

It’s funny, lots of people asked us what we were planning for our big tenth anniversary weekend – apparently you are supposed to go out of town or do something fancy. All I wanted to do was hang out at home with my husband and dogs for two days in a row (we normally only have one day off together per week) and enjoy the beautiful weather – and that’s exactly what we did!

Saturday was a big lazy day – mostly we just hung out in the yard, played with the dogs, and chilled out. We had a delicious dinner at Jean Farris Winery – I highly recommend it (and have the Guwerztraminer – difficult to pronounce, but a delicious sweet white wine). We had Chateaubriand for two – yum, yum, yum. One big hunk of meat with Bearnaise sauce and lump crabmeat – one of the many reasons I’m not a vegetarian!

And Sunday was our big do stuff to the house day – again, probably doesn’t sound like a lot of fun to many people, but I always love that first spring day when it’s time to fix up the yard and house. We made two trips to Lowe’s (you can never seem to get it all in one trip, can you?) and did the following:

1. Re-mulched in the front of the house

2. Trimmed back the jungle in the back of our yard

3. Replaced our ghetto front porch light with a much nicer one

4. Planted some flowers – a lily plant in the back yard and some Balloon Sentimentals out front (I had never seen these before, but they looked pretty in the picture)

5. Potted a habanero plant and an aloe vera plant (I historically have a brown thumb so it will be interesting to see how all these plants will work out!)

6. Put on a new gutter-extender thing so hopefully rainwater won’t pool in the front of our house any more

7. Did some experimental fencing in the back of the yard in an attempt to keep Ruby from jumping the fence

I think that’s it – I may be leaving out a project or two. I was rewarded with a sunburn for my efforts – I’m fairly dark complected and don’t burn easily, so I always forget to put on sunscreen when I’m going to be out in the sun a long time. The back of my neck is really red; hubby keeps teasing me and calling me a redneck.

All in all, it was a wonderful weekend – and I hope anyone reading this had a great weekend, too!

2 Responses to “Weekend Wrap-up”

  1. wishiwerebuffy Says:

    Geez you got a lot done. You can come on over to Harrodsburg and motivate me! 😉

  2. Deedee Says:

    Awwww…Happy (belated) anniversary! I love weekends like that and Gewurztraminer happens to be my favorite wine. I’d love to see pics of your Balloon Sentimentals…I’ve never heard of those.

Leave a Reply

