Late Monday

This entry will be short and sadly, picture-less (at least no new pictures). My mom is borrowing my computer, so I have no ability to upload new pics.

So tell me if this ever happens to you. You run across a project – not even a new one, but one that’s been kicking around for a while, say on Ravelry or in an old magazine – and all of a sudden, you MUST KNIT IT. Right now! That totally happened to me this weekend. I ran across someone’s Montego Bay scarf on Ravelry on Saturday – I don’t even remember whose right now, or I would link to it, and even though I’ve seen it a hundred times and never particularly wanted to knit it, but for some reason, I felt like I had to start on it that instant. And here is one of the fun things about Ravelry – I was able to review my stash and see if anyone else had made Montego Bay out of anything I had.

Turns out I had some Gossamer lying around (Caribbean colorway) that I thought might be a good fit, so I cast on Saturday night. First on size 6 needles, and I decided that made the resulting fabric too stiff, then on size 8s, which was much better. I’m very much not used to working with variegated yarn, however – the pooling that is occurring is slightly worrisome to me, but I am trying to just go with the flow and see how it turns out.

I also sneaked into the yarn shop last week while on lunch – I managed to only pick up a skein of sock yarn – some ONline Supersocke in a self-striping blue. I really wanted the bright orange, but decided that would be impractical.

I’m also thinking about FINALLY casting on for Tempting – I bought this:

ages ago for that very reason. It’s the time of year when I could actually wear it, so it’s not a bad idea. But all that 2X2 rib – it sounds kind of exhausting!

And that’s all for now – it’s late and I’m tired!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Late Monday”

  1. wishiwerebuffy Says:

    I know all about having to cast on .. right then and now. It’s part of our addiction!

  2. milmom Says:

    I made the Tempting sweater for my daughter. It is one of her favorites. In fact, when we went to have her Senior pictures done, that is one of the tops she brought and had some of her pictures taken in it.

  3. Deedee Says:

    You always seem to pick the perfect projects to look gorgeous on you and to fit your personality! I can hardly wait to see both the Montego Bay scarf and Tempting on you…you go girl!!

Leave a Reply

