Rules are (sometimes) meant to be broken

So, I kind of have this unwritten rule in my blog-house – I don’t write about work.  I like to keep those two parts of my life separate.  Pretty much everything else is fair game – I write about my husband, my dogs, my family, and of course, my knitting, but not about work.

Until now.

Yup, that’s me and the Yarn Harlot.

One of the most fun parts of my job (as a marketing manager at a large independent bookseller) is getting to meet lots of really cool authors.  In the seven years I’ve been there, I’ve met some pretty famous folks (Jimmy Carter, Loretta Lynn, Paula Deen) and some of my all time favorite authors (Barbara Kingsolver, Neil Gaiman, Jasper Fforde, to name a very few).  This past weekend was way up there – I got to hang out with the Harlot!  I’d already worked with her a couple of times at a yearly book festival we do, but this time she was at MY store.   And it was a blastl!

I got to meet lots of Ravelry folks (Artsluvr made us all nametags), see everyone’s WIPS, and hear most of Stephanie’s talk (I was working, after all, so I had to dash out a few times) – she’s absolutely hilarious – as I’m sure you know from reading her blog, plus smart and sarcastic and inspirational.  Slowgraffiti did a raffle for Doctors Without Borders with a truly awesome prize basket with gifts from Magpie, ReBelle, and other local vendors and we raised nearly $600 – I’m very proud of my fellow knitters.  I enjoyed meeting all the ones I met, and wish I could have talked to every one of you!  Thanks for making my event such a huge success!

Tags:

2 Responses to “Rules are (sometimes) meant to be broken”

  1. brooke Says:

    Rachel,
    Thank YOU for all the hard work you did to make the event a success as well. It was great, and your store is beautiful. Thanks again!

  2. Deedee Says:

    As a former fellow Kentuckian (ok, an adopted one), I thank you from the bottom of my heart for posting about work! Since I lived across the street from the bookstore for five years, I miss it dreadfully. Thanks to you my friend, I got a peek of a place I dearly love!! I know exactly which column that is you’re standing next to in the pic too…(just kidding! hehe) What a great picture and I am definitely going to start stalking YarnHarlot’s blog, site, and wherever else she hangs out at..lol
    Thank you again for sharing Rachel!

Leave a Reply

