My new favorite hat!

Pattern: Lace Hat #26 from Holiday 2007 Knit Simple (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease, Oxford Grey

Needles – Size 8 circs & dpns

(sorry about the not-so-good pictures – rain, bad lighting, operator error, etc)

I essentially finished this hat in ONE DAY, y’all. That never happens! I cast on for it last Friday night, and then sat on my couch, watched ten episodes of Sports Night, (which, by the way, is one of the best sitcoms ever and you should totally watch it) and knit and knit and knit and knit. Hubby was working, so I knit and watched tv to my hearts content – and it was wonderful! It was, as you may recall from my last post, the biggest snow we have had in forever, so it was a good day to do so. And we were going to a party that night (yes, we did make it) and I really wanted to have it finished by then. The pattern was totally easy, very intuitive, and super-pretty. The finished hat in the magazine did not have a ribbon, but did suggest threading one through the eyelets – I just happened to have some black velvet ribbon lying around, and tried it out, and really liked the results.

So I wore this hat to my party, and something unusual happened. All my friends, of course, know I knit. None of them do, but they’re all aware I do. One of them complimented my hat, and asked if I made it. I replied in the affirmative, and suddenly, I was getting showered in compliments! Even from the guys! And everyone was so impressed that I had made it with my own two hands! It was very gratifying to have something that I made complimented so nicely.

I also decided I should have matching fingerless mitts (or hobo gloves, as hubby calls them), so I cast on for one and finished it up last week:

I can’t post a pattern link, because I essentially made it up. I just knit some rows in the twisted rib, then several rounds in the double eyelet pattern, doing the EZ thumb trick after a while, then did a few more rounds of the twisted rib and cast off – totally easy. And, I’m a tiny bit impressed with myself for coming up with this without a pattern! Now I just need to not have SMS (Second Mitt Syndrome) and cast on for the second one!

Other projects are continuing as well – the Shetland Triangle lacks only the last repeat and the border before it is done (this picture is totally blurry and not very good, but I want to show progress!):

Each row seems like it’s taking forever now, of course, but I will finish up one day!

And, I broke my yarn fast again today – I went to Magpie Yarn to drop something off for the owner, and actually needed a second skein of Silky Wool (well, I only had one skein, and what good is that?), and of course got caught by the 40% off bin. I was almost seduced by some Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky, but I’ve heard that stuff pills like a mofo, so I went for three skeins of 1824 Cotton in a kind of slate blue. Have no idea what I’m going to make with it – I just couldn’t let it stay there! Any ideas?

I’m thinking about the Lace Ribbon Scarf in the new Knitty for the Silky Wool -it’s written for fingering weight, but I think it would be pretty in this yarn. There’s one on Ravelry already in Silky Wool, and it’s very pretty.  Mine is navy blue, which I think would look great in this pattern.  Hey – it’s not a hat!  I need more things that are not hats!

Leave a Reply

