Get Lost

I have a FO! Yep, another hat:

Pattern: Robin’s Egg Blue Hat by Rachel Iufer

Yarn: Plymouth Encore Mega

Mods: Cast on 10 fewer stitches to account for the bulkier yarn used, started decreases on flap immediately rather than working three rows first, and started decreasing at the crown at 5.5 inches doing k4, k2tog.

I’m pretty happy with this hat – it is way warm! My gauge is supertight – I used size 10 needles and the ball band calls for 15s.

I also got my Knitpicks order in for My First Sweater ™ and I’m swatching for that:

I’m having a hard time getting gauge with this yarn. The gauge listed on the ball band matches the pattern requirements, but I can’t seem to get there. Gauge for the pattern is 3.25 stitches per inch – using size 11 needles, I can get to 3.5 stitches per inch, but the resulting fabric just seems to loose to me. I’m a very tight knitter – I always have to go up at least one and usually two needle sizes to get gauge, so maybe what looks “loose” to me is actually normal. I was planning on making the 37 inch (medium) size, but if I do it on the 11s, it will be more like a 34.5 – which is closer to my actual measurements, but I’m not sure if I want it that close fitting. More swatching is probably in order, and I may just have to cast on, knit some, and try it on before I know.

Now for the non-knitting content…

OK, so I’m a Lost fan. I didn’t watch it quite from the beginning – we watch almost no tv, so committing to watching a show is kind of a big deal around our household. After the first season was over, I convinced hubby to watch the first couple of episodes in repeats, and we both got hooked. Bought the first season on DVD, and have watched all successive seasons. I’m still a fan, but hubby has been kind of losing the faith lately. I’ll agree – last season – not so great. This season has been good, but not great – hubby was convinced they had jumped the shark – I wasn’t yet, but I had been starting to wonder if the glory days were gone. I think he is just watching it to make me happy, really. After the killer season finale last year (me – watching the big reveal: jump off the couch and yell – “They’re in the future?????”), the show just didn’t seem to be living up to that promise.

Until last night – that was a KILLER episode. Totally intense, edge of your seat stuff – and totally romantic, too. If you didn’t get at least a tiny bit emotional when Desmond finally got ahold of Penny – well, then you have a heart of stone. Hubby said if all the episodes were that good, he would be totally into it again. Well, here’s hoping!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Get Lost”

  1. Deb Says:

    I love your hats & your blog! Your hats look so soft & comfortable. I
    like to make hats, but they never seem to fit properly. Either the hat
    is too small or I have a pretty big head. I haven’t been able to figure
    out which it is.

    I can’t wait to see your sweater.

  2. milmom Says:

    I love the color of your hat!

Leave a Reply

