A Shawl? Why not? Plus more fingerless gloves…

So I have determined I should knit a shawl. Not sure why – I don’t even know that I would wear such a thing, but I have seen so many gorgeous ones – my favorite has been Brooklyn Tweed’s Shetland Triangle – I mean, really. Does it get any more gorgeous than that?

So I checked out Wrap Style, and it doesn’t look all that hard – so I figured I would give it a whirl. I’ve had two skeins of Gloss sitting around for forever – well, one is tied up into a partial scarf from Victorian Lace Today, but I wasn’t feeling the love on that one, and haven’t worked on it in forever, so it may be sacrificed to my own Shetland Triangle. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

That’s the 20 set up rows, plus two repeats of the body. You can’t tell much about the pattern from this photo, but it is very pretty. Once I figured out the cast on – and ripped it back twice – I was pretty much good to go. You do a provisional crochet cast on, knit some rows, then turn what you’ve got, pick up and knit, then turn again and unzip the cast on and pick up those stitches – I just couldn’t get my head around it at first. Plus, I was totally confused by the fast that it says in the book it’s constructed from the wide edge to the point – how can that be when you start with a two stitch cast on? I puzzled over that for a while, then just decided to go ahead and knit the thing and see what happened. Well, it IS constructed from the widest point – the repeats add width as you go!

I only have ripped back once since I figured out the cast one – in the first body repeat, I made the same error in two of the pattern rows, and knew I wouldn’t be able to live with it. Fortunately, I had used a lifeline, and only had to rip back about five rows.

With only two skeins of yarn, this won’t be a huge shawl, but I think it’s going to be awfully pretty! I like Gloss a lot – it feels nice to work with and the burgundy color is very pretty. I question whether or not it would be good for socks, like it is advertised as, but it’s working up nicely for this project.

I also finally finished hubby’s Dashings

I knit one with the yarn left over from his hat, then didn’t have enough for a second. So I went to pick up another skein, and of course, they didn’t have the same dye lot. The new dye lot was pretty different – much brighter – less muddy. I wish I had this one originally! But he didn’t seem to care that the two gloves would be slightly different colors. However, when I cast off for the second, and compared it to the first, it was a good two inches longer. Turns out, I didn’t pay close enough attention to my own pattern mods – oops! I shortened them considerably, but knit an extra eight rows into the second glove. So I made a THIRD glove – all signs were pointing to it. I could handle if they were two different colors, but NOT two different lengths, too. Fortunately, it’s a quick knit and only took two nights. Knit in yummy Malabrigo – possibly my favorite yarn. So soft, so warm, so pretty – I would like to knit a big old blanket out of it to curl up on the couch with!

And, I made myself a pair of garter stitch mitts (links to Ysolda‘s free pattern):

Made from some random Simply Soft I had lying around. Let me tell you, this pattern is ingenious. It uses short rows to shape the thumb gusset – brilliant! Really fast and easy, once you get the hang of the short rows. Unfortunately, the kitchener stitch I did on the second mitt to sew it up got all wonky, so it’s a little uneven, but I don’t know that I care enough to knit another one.

One final note – got my new Patternworks catalog a few days ago – I love to thumb through it and look at all the yarn – and they are now carrying Shokay – how much would I love to get my hands on some skeins of that? It’s made from yak down – how exotic! But at $32 a skein, probably will not happen any time soon for me. But get this – in the magazine, they offer a free pattern with purchase of this yarn – a striped stockinette scarf – that calls for NINE balls of yarn. That would be a total yarn cost of – wait for it – $288! Yep, that’s a little rich for my blood. But hey, if there are people out there that want to – and can – pay almost $300 to knit a scarf, more power to them!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “A Shawl? Why not? Plus more fingerless gloves…”

  1. Deedee Says:

    Ohhh, your shawl is going to be gorgeous Rachel!!! Can’t wait to see it finished…

Leave a Reply

