UFO Rescue

Well, two days into the yarn diet and it still goes well. Let’s hope it continues! I’ve been rescuing some UFOs, as planned – yesterday’s football knitting was my Taos Cabled Scarf that had been languishing for almost exactly a year – I got the yarn with Christmas money last year. A close-up:

Not sure why this got relegated to the UFO bin – maybe because it has cabling every fourth row, and I’m not super-fast with the cable needle. I like the color changes in this yarn (Crystal Palace Taos), but it’s a little splitty – the strands are pretty loosely plied, and I keep accidentally digging them apart with my needle. This won’t be the longest scarf ever – I only bought two balls, and I don’t know that I’m going to care enough to go get a third to make it longer.

I also started a Chevron Scarf this weekend (from Last Minute Knitted Gifts) with some Knitpicks Gossamer I had on hand – I don’t know if I’m going to make it on this or not. I love the yarn (God bless Knitpicks), I like the colors (even in combination – I went with a purply colorway and a blue colorway), but a loooong scarf pattern in laceweight? It kind of sounds like a recipe for madness. Plus, as I’m knitting away (seriously, like an inch and a half in about an hour), I’m thinking, this pattern is totally stockinette based. What is there to stop it from curling like a mother? So I hop on Ravelry (love, love, love that I have this option) and check out some of the multitudinous Chevron scarves, and see that several people have commented on it curling. So should I rip out and add a garter stitch border? Not worry about it? I know blocking will help some, but even my Argosy rolls, and it’s got garter every few rows. So I don’t know. I’m going to put it on the back burner for a while and see later.

OK, here are two random things that are calling my name to make:

1. Chanson en Crochet – a crocheted capelet. Honestly, I don’t have a lot of use for a crocheted capelet, but I’ve got a semi-formal thing in just under two weeks, and that would be a great wrap. If it were knitting, I would never even attempt it, but I am a way fast crocheter, and it is possible I could get this done in time. Here’s the thing – I would need black and the only vaguely appropriate black yarn I have is Microspun, and this pattern calls for worsted. Double the yarn, maybe? I need to do some more research into this before moving forward.

2. A Gingerbread Castle from the second Barbara Walker Treasury. Why? I don’t know. I have even less use for a knitted castle than I do for a crocheted capelet, and yet I want one.

I tell you, those Barbara Walker books are so much fun – I think it fairly astounds my husband that I can sit entranced staring at pictures of stitch patterns, but I just love to thumb through them. I’ve never even incorporated any into a pattern (that’s a lie, I took my baby cable rib sock pattern from there), but I can imagine the amazing things I can make! I love the lace sections, especially – the more complex the better! If you don’t have these wonderful books, hunt them down – you’ll be glad!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “UFO Rescue”

  1. Red is the color « RachelKnits Says:

    […] Scarf in Taos – this one was a long time coming. I blogged about this scarf’s long history here – but it is done at last! Even in time to wear it this winter! I do wish it were longer, but I like […]

Leave a Reply

