Yarn diet

So it has come to this. I have always scoffed internally a little bit when I would read on the knitlist or Ravelry about people going on yarn diets – I would think, “Why deny yourself something that gives you so much pleasure?” However, with at least two vacations looming, and our credit card debt looming even larger, something had to go. I don’t really buy all that much yarn, but it’s an easy way to save a few bucks between now and March when said vacations will happen. Bobby and I will be taking a weekend trip with the dogs – I think we are going to rent a cabin somewhere near Natural Bridge like we did a couple of years ago, and then my yearly trip with my girlfriends will be this spring, too. So saving money is the order.

In fact, I went to a yarn store TODAY with my mom and did not buy a single skein – I’m so proud of myself!

It’s not like I don’t have enough yarn to get me through a few months, anyway – I have all of my UFOs, plus yarn already purchased for the following projects:

1. Robin’s Egg Blue Hat from I Dream of Knitting or Banana Republic Knockoff Hat – on Craftster by Metaphysical Muse (they are pretty similar)

2. Some sort of snowflake hat – maybe the appropriately named Snowflake Hat from Carissa Knits

3. The ubiquitous Chevron Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts

4. Tempting from Knitty

5. Some black laceweight that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with yet – perhaps a Pi Shawl? I want to make some sort of shawl but I’m not sure what yet.

6. Several skeins of sock yarn

7. Plus the usual unassigned stash yarn that could be who knows what.

And, I really want to finish some UFOs that have been languishing about the house for about forever. I’m thisclose to being done with my Melon Scarf – probably just about half a dozen more pattern repeats and I’m done. I made good on my promise to make that my football knitting last weekend, and knit about 60 rows. And boy, could I feel that in my hands the next day!

I don’t think I’m going to do any edging – I think I like it just the way it is. I’m a little intimidated about blocking it – I’ve not block a major lace project before, so it will be interesting. I really wish I had some blocking wires – I think that would make the whole shebang a whole lot easier.

I also finally busted out my yarn winder that I got for Christmas – and let me tell you, even without a swift, that baby is a life changer. Once I got my system down (using the back of a chair as a pseudo-swift) and my tension right, I wound 2 skeins of laceweight in about 15 minutes. Waaaaaaay faster than my old method of wrapping it around my knees and doing it by hand, that’s for sure!

More football tomorrow, so more good knitting time. I didn’t do so hot on my picks last week – I picked both the Colts and the Cowboys to win, and neither did. That’s fine with me, though – I’ve been rooting for a Patriots/Packers Superbowl all along, and unless things go terribly awry tomorrow, I think that is what we will get. And if that is the case, I’ll pretty much be happy with whomever wins – I’d love to see Favre get another ring, but an unbeaten season for the Pats would be pretty cool, too!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

