Three things I am pretty darn excited about

1. I just purchased my copy of The Sweet Far Thing today – the third in the Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray. I can’t wait to start it, but I am re-reading the first two books in the trilogy first – I just finished A Great and Terrible Beauty this morning, and am a few chapters into Rebel Angels right now. Seriously, these books are so much fun – I wish they were around when I was a teen to read them. They have it all – romance, magic, mystery – and they are set in Victorian England – really, what more could you ask for? AND – the third one is HUGE – I love big fat juicy books like this – guess what I’ll be doing all day Saturday??

2. I can totally do entrelac. For reals, y’all. I’ll almost done with Quant from the new Knitty – I don’t have a picture yet, though. Slacker, I know – it hasn’t been sunny enough on a day that I’m off to take pictures, and our house isn’t so much with the natural light. But you know what? As it turns out, entrelac is not that hard. Yes, it is fiddly – I won’t lie – there’s lots of turning your work around, but it is so much fun to see those little diamonds pop up! Plus, this pattern is so good – if you have never done entrelac, I highly recommend it – it is very, very clear and straightforward. It doesn’t seem to make sense – you’re all like, “Do what?” – but just do exactly what the pattern says and you will be good to go.

I’m extra excited about this because it was one of my Fearless Knitting goals (as mentioned in Knitting Daily and on Ravelry – if I am successful and not too much of a interwebs moron, there should be a button on that sidebar over there proclaiming my total fearlessness), along with colorwork. If colorwork is this easy and fun, I am golden for knitting goals in 2008!

3. I don’t have to work at all this weekend, including Sunday, when I thought I did, so it is NFL playoffs all weekend for me!!! And yes, I really am excited about this – I love football, and I love to knit and watch football. So for the record, here are my picks (no spread, just winners):

AFC Divisional
Jacksonville/New England – um. Let me think. New England? I don’t think it will be an easy one – Jacksonville is the team that everyone keeps saying no one wants to meet in the playoffs, but I think they are going down. I don’t know if anyone can stop the Patriots.

San Diego/Indianapolis – a little tougher to pick, but I’m going with Indy. I don’t think the Colts will let the Chargers beat them again, and Harrison should be back, so Indy it is.

NFC Divisional
New York Giants/Dallas – Dallas. Manning and co. looked good last week, but Dallas has something to prove after the last couple of weeks. Although if T.O. isn’t healthy, I may eat these words!

Seattle/Green Bay – I refuse to live in a world where the Packers don’t win this game, so I’m picking Green Bay. I love Brett Farve and really, really want him to get back to the Superbowl this year. My team (Denver) was out of playoff contention forever ago, so I’m pulling (almost against my better nature – I’m an AFC gal) for the Pack to go all the way.

We’ll see how I do – I called three out of four last weekend (I really thought Washington was on a roll).

Enjoy the playoffs if you watch ’em – if not, enjoy your weekend!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

