Hooray for the Interwebs!

I’ve recently placed orders for stuff I can’t wait to get. Interweave is having what is apparently an annual sale on slightly damaged books – 50% – 80% off, y’all. I managed to restrain myself and only got two – Folk Socks by Nancy Bush and The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns by Ann Budd. To be honest, I would have gotten more, but by the time I could check out the website, they were sold out of a lot of titles.

And, just tonight, I ordered a bunch of stuff from KnitPicks – I love those people so much. They have totally spoiled me for buying yarn anywhere else. Anytime I go in my LYS, I finger all the yarns, and think, “I could get something just like this for half the price at Knitpicks.” Now, that’s not to say I never by yarn at my LYS, because I do all the time! They, too, are having a fabulous book sale – 40% off all titles. I ordered The Opinionated Knitter by EZ. Can’t wait to read that. Also, four balls of sock yarn (my new obsession), a set of DPNs, and six balls of Shine Sport to make their Lace Kitchen Curtain pattern they just posted. We desperately need a new curtain on our mudroom door – the one we have is beyond skanky – it’s barely hanging on the rod. All in all, just enough to get the free shipping. Yay, KnitPicks!

So I have pretty much blown my knitting budget for the next little while – but I’ll be having lots of fun!

And, a picture – my first House Elf sock (also known as Super Quick Baby Socks by Dilys Sutherland – great name, that). I knit a second one that greatly improved on the first, but didn’t get a picture before I had to take it to work. These are a great way for a novice sock knitter to practice. I think I get the whole picking up stitches thing now. You’ll notice the unsightly garter ridge on this one – I eliminated that on the second sock.

Maybe one day I’ll finish my grown up socks!

2 Responses to “Hooray for the Interwebs!”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Thanks for the Hurt Book Sale tip! I needed a little retail therapy today, and it was just the thing 🙂

    Yay knitting books!

  2. rkray3 Says:

    You are so welcome! I hope you got some good bargain!

Leave a Reply

